Track Premiere: Super Structure – “Despair“

Super Structure have been naming their releases after years, ascending from demos 1997 and 1998 to LP debut 1999. That’s the year their namesake LP by Fall Silent dropped. Other releases from the pre-Y2K year: The Dillinger Escape Plan’s Calculating Infinity, Botch’s We Are the Romans, Coalesce’s 0:12 Revolution in Just Listening and Turmoil’s The Process Of.

That sets a high standard for the Tokyo band, but it’s one that they reach with ease. Though the album dropped in Japan back in July of 2019, it’s just now seeing a release stateside. “Despair” opens with some of Turmoil’s metallic hardcore brunt, but it gets extra frantic and chaotic from there. The most energetic riff separates the songs TWO breakdowns. The first is full of mathcore’s panic chords, while the latter closes out the song with much more metallic fare.

Pre-orders (vinyl and digital) launch Friday via Daze.