Video Premiere: MISFIRE – “Fractured”


Chicago-based thrash trio and recent MNRK Heavy signees MISFIRE will release their crushing Sympathy for the Ignorant debut full-length on April 1, and today, they’re unveiling the record’s first single, track listing, cover art, and preorders. Check out the ripping new single for “Fractured” here.

“Featured as the first song of the album, ‘Fractured’ unearths the feelings of uncertainty and dread we were faced with in 2020,” says drummer James Nicademus. “Inspired by the current state of the world, it delves into the madness that is the pandemic. The song poses the question, ‘What’s left of who we are?’ as we are left with humanity divided and fractured. The album has a common theme revolving around situations that many people have gone through or will go through. We’re all going through this shit right now, so this is our take on it: ‘No matter what you believe, we are fractured, divided, diseased.’ We are looking forward to sharing it with the world!”

MISFIRE makes old-school flavored thrash metal devastation with the kind of bombastic firepower that could wake the dead, and just one listen to the track above will introduce you to what they mean by “fire power.” It’s music that could have arrived in the thrash golden age of 1986, but still makes sense and sounds relevant today, injecting modern metal mastery into their brew for a powerful, timeless sound.

The excellence in execution within the band owes much to the longtime chemistry between its blue-collar members. Guitarist and vocalist Jay Johnson and drummer James Nicademus started jamming together as teenagers. They played in the band Diamond Plate before reuniting in MISFIRE. Bassist and vocalist Sean Coogan is another young veteran, having cut his heavy metal teeth in the band Vitrial. While Coogan sings, most of the trio plays multiple instruments. Everyone contributes to songwriting.

MISFIRE is poised to give the world a much-needed dose of Windy City whiplash. Get ready.

Sympathy For the Ignorant

Sympathy For The Ignorant Track Listing:

1. Fractured
2. Red Flag
3. War Of Mine
4. Skin Of Mirrors
5. Death Trap
6. No Offense
7. R.I.P.
8. He Said, She Said
9. L.Y.S.
10. Sympathy For The Ignorant

Pre-order Sympathy for the Ignorant here. 

Featured image photo credit: MISFIRE by Wombat Fire