New Year, New Riffs: Five January Releases to Be Excited About

I know you’re already sick of “new year, new you” posts, but we’re better than that here at Decibel. Whether or not you’re excited about the new calendar year, it’s undeniable that 2018 is already shaping up to be a killer year for extreme metal of all stripes. Here are five January releases to be stoked about.

Corrosion of Conformity – No Cross No Crown (Nuclear Blast)
Guitarist/vocalist Pepper Keenan has returned to Corrosion of Conformity for No Cross No Crown, the first album from the band to feature him in over a decade.

Hooded Menace – Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed (Season of Mist)
Death/doom crushers Hooded Menace will unveil their latest horror-inspired opus through Season of Mist on January 26. Ossuarium will be their first disc for the label.

Philip H. Anselmo & The Illegals – Choosing Mental Illness as a Virtue (Housecore)
The always-busy former Pantera frontman will unleash his second album with The Illegals through his own Housecore label on January 26. Like the album name implies, Choosing Mental Illness is heavy, punishing and dark.

Portal – Ion (Profound Lore)
The Australian cult are charting new, but still dark, territory with Ion, if teaser “Phreqs” gives us any indication. Frantic riffing, cavernous vocals and murky atmosphere seem to be the name of the game on their new album.

Tribulation – Down Below (Century Media)
Despite having released new EP Lady Death on December 22, Decibel cover stars Tribulation are coming back with a full-length album at the end of January. Down Below is the fourth LP from the Swedish black/death outfit.