Track Premiere: Equivocator – “Axiomatic”

New Jersey based progressive/angular metal duo Equivocator drop their eponymous EP this September through Nefarious Industries.

Until then, Decibel proudly shares their powerful, layered new single “Axiomatic”, a sonic wallop from the pair Matthew Lupo (East of the Wall, Stronds, Opul, The Postman Syndrome) and East of the Wall bandmate Chris Alfano (ex-NY In 64, ex-Day Without Dawn, The Postman Syndrome).

“Acceptance of knowledge and truth comes easy for a lot of people. For everyone else, there’s “Axiomatic”. This track is a reminder that certainty is fleeting, and imperfect information is often all we have. So, question yourself constantly, but don’t let that stop you from engaging with conviction,” the band shared in a statement.

“‘Axiomatic’ contains an amalgamation of styles, from blasts to blackened with some dirge and dinginess as well. But the real highlight of this track is its anthem-adjacent chorus. It’s head on, focused, pure riff worship interwoven with driving vocal decimation.”

The three track collection sees all lead vocals written, performed, and recorded by Alfano, with Lupo tackling all instruments, programming, additional vocals, and other recording. The EP was mixed by Steven Alexander Ryan (The Black Queen) and Lupo, mastered by Nicholas Zampiello at New Alliance East (A Wilhelm Scream, Merzbow, Pelican), and completed with artwork and layout by Andrew Notsch.

Nefarious Industries will release Equivocator on limited cassette and all digital platforms on September 22. Find preorders and merch at the label webshop HERE.