Listen: Night Demon Release New Single, ‘Empires Fall,’ Featuring Members of Rancid

It’s no secret that we here at Decibel are rather fond of west coast heavy metal practitioners Night Demon, so we’re pretty disappointed that we won’t be indulging in hails and ales with them this weekend at the postponed Decibel Magazine Metal & Beer Fest. It’s not all disappointment and uncertainty, though: Night Demon’s new single “Empires Fall”—their first original music in nearly three years—is streaming now.

“Empires Fall” is a fist-pumping heavy metal banger, featuring the soaring vocals and shredding guitars you’d expect from Night Demon in addition to vocals from none other than Rancid’s Lars Frederiksen & Matt Freeman. It’s an odd pairing but it works surprisingly well. The B-side features a cover of “Fast Bikes” from defunct French heavy metallers Le Griffe, a song that perfectly emphasizes Night Demon’s old-school tendencies.

“It’s been three years since Night Demon has released original music,” bassist and singer Jarvis Leatherby said in a press release. “We’ve spent that time touring the world many times over, but all of that is sidelined now for obvious reasons. I present to you ‘Empires Fall.’ Our first offering of 2020. Enjoy!”

Listen to “Empires Fall” below. Score a copy of the 7-inch via Nuclear Blast. More information about the postponed festival is available here.