Full EP Stream: Soul Incursion – ‘Eternal Darkness’

Helsinki, Finland, where death thrash quartet Soul Incursion hail from, gets fewer than eight hours of daylight this time of year, so you can see how releasing the band’s debut EP, Eternal Darkness, might be appropriate now. The five-tracker is definitely not gonna bring any sunshine into your life. It’s a ripping slice of Scandinavian death metal with a strong thrash influence and grunted death metal vocals. Soul Incursion—Aleksi Mattila (bass/vocals), Henri Hirvonen (guitars), Oskar Bruun (guitars), Arttu Turunen (drums)—have only been together since 2021, but they’ve definitely locked into quite a forceful presence and sound.

Eternal Darkness was recorded by Tomi Uusitupa at Oxroad Studios and Oskar Bruun at Vallila ’87 Studios. It was mixed by Uusitupa at Oxroad, and mastered by Matias Nastolin at Louhinta Studios. It’s set for release digitally on December 15. Place your preorder here.

Here’s what the band had to say about its new EP:

“We’re thrilled to unveil our latest creation, the EP Eternal Darkness. These songs have been in the making for the last couple of years, and it’s truly gratifying to see them come to life. A big thank you to everyone who has already listened to, and shared the single – your support means a lot to us. We can’t wait for you to dive into the entire EP, and we look forward to sharing these tracks in person at our upcoming shows. Get ready and face the Eternal Darkness!”