Exclusive Premiere: Inquisition Returns With “Wings of Anu”

Last time we spoke with Inquisition guitarist/vocalist/mastermind Jason “Dagon” Weirbach, he was literally telling us he was “not a Nazi” in response to accusations by a former skinhead/tour bus driver that Weirbach was a white supremacist. 

If you’re looking for further evidence to support or refute a particular side’s claims, well, I’m not going to Google that for you. Instead, I’ll bring you the first taste of new music from the Columbia-cum-Seattle black metal duo since 2013’s Obscure Verses for the Multiverse (which charted at #5 on Decibel’s Albums of the Year List) in the form of “Wings of Anu.”

“Anu is the god of all gods, the cosmos, the all,” Dagon tells Decibel. “His seeds were dropped to the soil of earth and life was spawned. His wings represent those who came here and seeded the earth. Still today those wings continue to return and are at times seen in the skies in various forms in the most unnatural forms transcending through interstellar portals to earth.”

“Wings of Anu” is taken from the succinctly-titled Bloodshed Across the Empyrean Altar Beyond the Celestial Zenith, which enters our cosmos on August 26 through the Season of Mist portal. But you can take a trip with it right now.

Pre-order Bloodshed Across the Empyrean Altar Beyond the Celestial Zenith here, and get to work on memorizing that track list below. You’ve got four months. 

Track List:
1. Intro: The Force Before Darkness
2. From Chaos They Came
3. Wings of Anu
4. Vortex From the Celestial Flying Throne of Storms
5. A Black Aeon Shall Cleanse
6. The Flames of Infinite Blackness Before Creation
7. Mystical Blood
8. Through the Divine Spirit of Satan a Glorious Universe is Known
9. Bloodshed Across the Empyrean Altar Beyond the Celestial Zenith
10. Power from the Center of the Cosmic Black Spiral
11. A Magnificent Crypt of Stars
12. Outro: The invocation of the Absolute, the All, the Satan
13. Coda: Hymn to the Cosmic Zenith