Full EP Stream: As the Sun Falls – ‘Where the Silence Reigns’

Even though it was launched in Switzerland during the pandemic, this melodic death metal band—Mikko Voutilainen (vocals), Jani Mikkänen (guitars/vocals), Lauri Unkila (guitars), Oskar Englund (bass), Paul Rytkönen (drums)—is 100% Finnish. The quintet was actually started by Mikkänen in 2020 as a solo project. He eventually brought in a full cast to flesh out his creative endeavor and a couple of subsequent EPs and a debut full-length were issued. Members have come and gone in the meantime, but the above lineup appears on this latest three-song effort, Where the Silence Reigns (again self-released), that we’re premiering here in its full 20-plus-minute glory.

Where the Silence Reigns was mixed and mastered by Guillaume Schappacher at Gravity Sound Productions and will be available October 13 on CD and digitally. Place your preorder here.

Here’s the band’s take on the new EP:

“We’re beyond stoked to present our new EP, Where the Silence Reigns, which precedes our forthcoming new album due out next year. Although these tracks didn’t make it to the final selection for the album, they still offer a unique and deeply melancholic musical experience on their own, deeply inspired by the Nordic nature that surround us. We also wanted to get something out to coincide with our new European tour with our friends Aeonian Sorrow and Sanity Obscure and we can’t wait to play some new songs before an audience.”