Venomous Concept & Under Attack Ready Release for Killer New Split EP, ‘The Kids Are Alright’

This Friday (August 5), To Live a Lie Records will release your new favorite split 7-inch of 2022. “The Kids Are Alright” features a pair of new punk-inspired rippers from Venomous Concept (the long-running band featuring Lock Up frontman Kevin Sharp and Napalm Death bassist Shane Embury as core members) and five complete scorchers form Richmond’s Under Attack (the short-running blast furnace featuring drum wizard Dave Witte amongst its ranks). MCR is handling the release in Japan.

“When touring stopped during the pandemic, VC had a chance to re-evaluate how we do things.” Venomous Concept frontman Kevin Sharp tells Decibel. “We ended up recording different directions and sounds… sort of like sketching ideas… The decision was made to play around with the ’80s time period, which became very broad. I was talking to Dave Witte at the time. Under Attack was just getting started and it seemed like they were revisiting their childhood as well. As things go, they had jus enough for a split and the decision was made to do a split band and label release. MCR has put out records since I have been collecting and my friend [Satoshi] Yasue from S.O.B. hooked that up and Dave knew Will Butler from To Live a Lie. I think the end result is a record that reminds me of the early record collecting days.”

Order “The Kids Are Alright” via To Live a Lie here.