Full Album Stream: Barbarian – “To No God Shall I Kneel”

Fronted by guitarist/vocalist and only remaining original member, Borys Crossburn, the trio known as Barbarian formed ten years ago. To No God Shall I Kneel is their fourth album, but the first to feature drummer Sledgehammer and bassist Blackstuff. Despite the rhythm section shake-up, Barbarian remain unerringly and confrontationally themselves throughout every moment of To No God Shall I Kneel.

With perfect artwork execution by Acid Witch’s Shagrat, depicting the Barbarian himself enthroned amidst cobwebs, but wielding an axe dripping with fresh blood, To No God Shall I Kneel is seven tracks of what the band themselves deem “Obtuse Metal.”

“‘Sit on the bank of a river and wait: your enemy’s corpse will soon float by’” writes Crossburn, quoting Sun Tzu. “We’ve seen many ‘flavours of the month’ floating by throughout the years, but instead of sitting we’ve kept delivering our stubborn Heavy Metal, not to please anyone, not to reassure. We’d rather walk alone than giving up our Regressive Metal: ugly, threatening and timeless. The title of our new album ‘To no god shall I kneel’ speaks for itself, as do our lyrics.”

To No God Shall I Kneel

To No God Shall I Kneel comes out on CD, tape and vinyl formats June 7th on Hells Headbangers. Preorder it now.